Latoya Ruby Frazier


I couldn’t believe when I was reading an interview with Frazier, what she said;

Talking about your family photographs, you said, “My grandmother indicates the past, and my mother indicates the present.”

The project is about a continuation of personal history, family history, and communal history. We’re coming out of the same geographic location. We span the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. We have a particular way of carrying ourselves and the way that we think has been transmitted through the generations, from my grandmother to my mother to me.

When did your family move to the area? How far back was it?

I have collected all of the information that my mother and grandmother were willing to give, but there is a lot I don’t know. The reason I obsess over photographing all of us is that I don’t have a family history. We didn’t have a family photo album. We didn’t talk about the past. My mother had difficult times, and maybe to protect me she just didn’t want to discuss it.

[Full article can be found at huffingtonpost.com]

That is the main reason for my own personal work, I too don’t have a family history. My history ends with my Grandmother.

Check out her website at latoyarubyfrazier.com

Leave a Reply

