Screen printing


I went to a printing shop yesterday to find out the prices for the printed t-shirts. The man told me that the print has to be no bigger then A4 in size and costs £7. This put me off a bit because although my prints are not that big, it limits me to what I need to do. I have to supply my own t-shirts, which is not a problem. These will be coming straight from Primark.

After I left the shop, it instantly occurred to me to use a screen print to print my t-shirts. I’ve done screen printing before and it comes out great. The way the images are printed onto t-shirts (in the shop I visited yesterday) is by ironing it on, so I personally would prefer them to be screen printed.

I can do this at my University which is great. The last time I did this was at an art college for my foundation degree, and the only thing I needed to pay for was the screen. If this is the same then it works out cheaper and I can print my t-shirts in different sizes, for a variety of people to try on.

Some examples of screen printing

[Found: google images]

3 Responses to Screen printing

  1. Babygirl says:

    I prefer screen printing as well. The iron on effect always looks weird after a couple of days. I wish I knew how to do that, you know how many shirts I would create girl? lol. A LOT.

    • Hannah says:

      lol yeh. If my t-shirts turn out good, I might starting making my own. It can’t get any better then designing your own unique shirts.

      • Babygirl says:

        You’re absolutely right. I always have designs for t shirts in my mind but don’t know how to silkscreen and here it’s so expensive. Wish I knew how, I would be making t shirts all the time lol.

Leave a Reply

