First day in workshop


It was a great day at the workshop today. I was able to to get my wood cut out and then measured up and cut again for the mortise and tenon joints. I read somewhere on the internet that it’s better to cut out the mortise joint first, I’m only assuming its because its easier to try and make the tenon joint fit to the mortise joint or perhaps its easier to correct the tenon joint if the mortise joint is cut too big. I would love to know what the real reason is. Is mine correct?

Below is the beginning photographs for the room box, I got so busy I forgot to take more.

When I did my GCSEs and A-Level in Woodworks, the one equipment that everyone had to stay away from and not touch was the band saw. It was strictly out of limits to students and could only be used by teachers. Today however I have finally experienced using the machine. I was a bit nervous at first and tried to avoid it, but the man in the workshop, insisted I use it as its a great experience. He was right, it was great and much quicker then the other saw (the name has completely slipped my mind). I finished cutting out all my pieces however I cut them out too small so I have to come back tomorrow to file the down. I think I’m going to finish this much quicker then I expected.

Leave a Reply

